...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

9:38 a.m.
2002-01-17

Everyday I lunch, I come into the libarary, sit down, and surf. Mostly I stick with the BBC, sometimes I venture over to E.

Sitting in the computer lab, with rows and rows of computers and users, one can't but help noticing what your neighbor is looking at. Most of the time users are writing up reports (v. scholarly), playing games (strickly against the rules), or checking email (Hotmail seems to be the favorite). Lately however, there's been an increase of people (mostly girls) updating their online journals.

Even more disturbing than this fact (for no longer am I the cool, hip, living-on-the-edge, only online journalist in school chick) that most of the students seem to prefer OpenDiary. And when the school newspaper wrote a report online diaries their main focas was on OpenDiary.

Why is this disturbing?

I'm a one or two brand girl. I'm loyal to my brands: Kraft, Pilsbury, Nike, New Balance, Express, Clausin, Ben N Jerry, Edys, Blogger, and Diaryland. These people who have diaries at more than one place confuse me. Why would anyone WANT to leave Diaryland? When I made my family journal (which never really stuck) I only went with Diary-X because I didn't want anyone to search DLand for me. I was being sneaky.

But that's another story for another day.

Each time I see a student using OpenDiary, I yearn to walk up to them, take them by the shoulders and shake them while yelling, "DIARYLAND, DIARYLAND, DIARYLAND! OPENDIARY BAD BAD BAD! USE DIARYLAND!"

Then I get rather pouty, and wonder how many people check up on their lives. How many people say, "Oh god! Her life is SO INTERESTING! I want to be her!" or "OMG! SHE IS LIKE SOOOOOOOOOOOO LIKE TOTALY KEWL!"

Then I remember I'm suposed to be practicing Bridget (new form of self-help), and that means inner poise. Surely inner poise does not mean stalking fellow classmates online, seeing what their journals like, and then feeling a.)smug or b.)totally and utterly depressed.

Gah. I'm much to competitive. I really need to scale it down a bit. Must work on that. I think The Sims are helping though. Mom is much better at the entier thing than I am.

Well I'm off. Things to do you know, important things. I'm a very important person you know, in my head at least. Hmm. Must work on that too, must somehow become utter ruler of the universe. Hmm....
(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>