...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

9:47 a.m.
2002-01-21

Friday I had off from school, and Shazz and I resolved to go see Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of Kicking Harry Potter's Butt. Shazz had it calculated that if we didn't go on Friday, that it would be a month since we had said we were going to see it, and we both agreed that it would be pathetic if we let that happen.

Eventualy, after many phone calls (and 5 hours of Mr. Darcy in Pride and Prejudice), it was arranged that her mom would pick me up at 3, and that my mom would pick us up from the movie at 6. With a time of departure finally reached, I scurried into my room for light cleaning, and to hang my Bridget posters.

So far since putting Bridge and the boys above my bed, I've been sleeping much better than I had. Coincidence? I think not.

I also hung my Scholastic Art Competition Silver Key Winning photo of Mulder above my desk.

You'll see there Jeorge W. Cow (future President of the United States), my old X-Files Calendar (can't bear to take down that picture), my photo of Mulder above that, an add for Harry Potter, and the free Evolution poster I got from the theater.

Before I knew it, it was three o'clock, and Shazz and I were in the theater drooling over the various cast members of LotR. By the time the show was finished and we stepped out of the theater, it was snowing.

And snowing, and snowing, and...well...snowing some more.

We dropped Shazz off at her house, and then we headed home.

Saturday came and went with me watching Bridget, Four Weddings and a Funeral, High Fidelity, Don't Tell Mom the Babysitters Dead, and The Secret of My Success.

What I discovered from this slew of movie watching is best described by The Self-Made Critic.

"Bridget Jones' Diary was created by the same people who created Four Weddings and a Funeral and Notting Hill. These three movies are identical. The filmmakers keep going back to the well and stirring up these warmly humorous ditties by mixing and matching the same ingredients.

1) Start with a career bachelor or bachelorette.

2) Surprise them with a relationship.

3) Hook up Hugh Grant with an American actress.

4) Add wacky group of friends.

5) Threaten to have relationship end because someone is going to America.

6) Live happily ever after while declaring their love in an act of nature. (Snow, rain, press conference)

It's cute, it's warm, it's sweet. It's been done before. And it still works."

Sunday was spent in the same manner as Saturday, only this time I saw Moulin Rouge, An Ideal Husband, and threw things at the teevee when Nicole Kidman won over dear Bridget...er...Renee Zellweger, and when LotR took home nothing.

The only thing that's left is today, which has started out very plesant, as I found a note from Ladeeleroy in my guestbook. She found me right after she had finished watching Bridget, and wrote me a note telling me so. V. ironic.

I think I've become the biggest Bridget fan in Diaryland, or at least am the one to have written about her the most. She's appeared so far in 20 entries, in less than 3 months. Tomorrow will actually be my three month anniversary of watching Bridget. Hmm. Maybe will celebrate today by getting Chinese and watching Bridget, along with Notting Hill.

Yes, sounds like a v. good plan to me.


(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>