...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

6:10 p.m.
2002-07-10

I love work. I don't like going to work, but once I'm there, I like it. I like working with customers, I like my bosses, I like the other girls that work with me, and I like doing my jobs. It's fun.

But now, on my sixth straight day of working, with another three days to go before a day off, I'm a bit...off.

I mis-entered one entry, and entered one order twice. No, not technically a big deal, but a big deal for me because I don't want to make mistakes. Especially not silly little mistakes.

The entire day was frantic, trying to get everything done in three hours while waiting on customers and taking orders. There's a point where I know there are a million things to do, but I just stand with a blank look on my face, trying to think of just one thing that needs to be done.

Mrs. B picked up on this, and asked if she was working me too hard. I said no, because in truth that's how I feel. I just need some down time, where there's nothing I have to worry about. Last night was taken up thinking about cars and vans, and mornings I'm so out of it, it doesn�t really count.

Plus I like the hours I work. I have the second most hours of anybody doing my job. Today just before I left, Mr. B asked how I was doing, and I told him I thought I was doing well. I pretty much had the computers under control, I knew what needed to be done, and how to do it. I was comfortable with customers, and had the back under control. I watched his eyes as I told him this, and I could see he was impressed and very pleased with everything I was doing.

So work, really, is fine. Wonderful. I'm a month and 10 days in, and doing fine. A mistake here and there is fine as long as I correct them, which I do.

Knowing that didn't stop me from feeling like crying on the way home though.

Just as I stepped on the sidewalk, I decided I'd go up to the Coastal, and get myself some Edy's Ice Cream. I'd pop in the house, get my id, and go over to the bank and Wal-Mart, and buy myself some Buffy.

Because Buffy and Ice Cream are the best thing since X-ies and salsa. Plus, I didn't spend any of my last paycheck ($175, $115 with food deductions), and got a huge check this time ($297, $230 with food deduction, $10 of which is mom's.)

So this is me going. To the store. To buy Buffy. Hah!


(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>