...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

10:54 a.m.
2002-06-06

Wow. I'm not quite sure what to say. It's really amazing that this happened. Only two nights ago matt and I were talking about live long lies we've believed such as imaginary numbers and the fact that there are no llama beans, only lima beans. Now another lie has been uncovered. Not only did my long-lost brother come forward, but his long lost brother came forward as well, meaning I've now got one half-brother, and one quarter or step-brother (it's very confusing, and frankly I'm too shocked to work out the logistics) in addition to the sister I already knew about, Athena.

My mind can't quite get over the fact that I have two brothers, and all three of us somehow ended up in this Survivor thing. Amazing, huh? Even more amazing is that now, Jon is on his deathbed, and wants me to help him out. Even though it was him and my other brother that voted me off the island.

So much for family.

He's all loving and 'lets talk about rory and jess, and will and rachel, and spike getting his soul back-right after you save my life'. I'm just not sure I can do that though.

***

So far the job is great. It's wonderful and perfect. I wash dishes every day for three hours.

Saturday I went in to talk to the owners, Mr.B and Mrs. B, who told me they wanted me to have a respect for everything in the kitchen. Thus they decided they would like very much for me to start by washing dishes for the first week or so. When I wasn't washing dishes the front of house girls would teach me various tasks, and eventually I would have more and more responsibilities.

After the first stage was complete, I'd move to prepping lunches, catering jobs, and more general assistance. After a month to two months of that I'd start focusing more on baking or dinner prep. They then said that they wanted two things to happen. One, I needed to feel like I was getting an education, seeing if this was what I wanted to do for a career. Secondly, they had to feel like they were getting value out of me working for them.

I responded with a smile, saying that was exactly what I wanted. And I started.

I actually like washing the dishes very much. I have my own corner, I'm learning where everything goes, and I'm becoming comfortable with the people. I'm also doing a very, very good job.

When someone brings me dishes, I say thankyou. When Mrs. B teaches me a new task, shows me where something goes, or asks me to do something, I say thankyou. I always see a little look of surprise before she responds with a yourewelcome. I think so far they have been impressed with my willingness to do anything, and maintain a *very* clean workstation.

I don't like food in my sink. It drives me up the wall. If I have to get the food out with my hands, so be it. I just want it out.

The job is good. Fun. I get half price pastries, cinnamon rolls, banana bread, salads, and sandwiches. Plus free drinks. And eventually I won't be on dish duty, but cooking and baking.

I am very, very happy.

***

And of course I'll give Jonny whatever he needs. If I need to sneak into the hospital at night to supply him with Buffy and Gilmore Girl tapes, I'll do it. I'm a good girl, just like Rory. Except I have curly red hair, and a job washing dishes.


(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>