...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

10:42 a.m.
2001-11-02

Dear World,

At 3:15am this morning, I became a big sister. Athena Jean Genevieve was born, weighing in at 8lbs and measuring 19.5 inches long.

I'm a big sister. Me, finally. After 15 years of wanting one, I finally have her. In the past two years my grandparents have gone from having only one granddaughter, to having three.

Dad and Christi finally have their family, and Christi�s finally a real mom. I'm happy for her. Incredibly happy for her.

And I'm happy for dad. I know he wanted Athena very badly, and I'm glad he has her. And Christi. And the pups and kittens. Even Crow, that damn cat.

And I'm happy I'm here, that I have my mommy, and my pup and kittens. I have my family, and they have theirs. And every now and then, I'll get to go to their family, and hang out. Then I'll get to come back, and get on mom's nerves. I like it.

So, there you have it. I'm not an only child anymore. I'm a big sister, who's going to see her baby sister in a about six hours.

And I've decided, that I'm going to ask grandma and Ron to wait outside for 10 or 15 minutes while I go into see dad, Christi and Athena. I think I deserve to see the three of them alone first. I don't want to share my first moment with Athena. I want to be selfish.

So I will be. They can come in and see Athena after I've met her. But only then. I think that's fair. I think that's more than fair.

Me, a big sister. That's kinda scary. But I've done alright so far as a cousin, niece, and granddaughter. I also haven't completely messed up being a daughter. I think I can handle sister.

Course, one can't handle big things such as being a sister or traveling 500 miles with a grandma on an empty tummy. I'm sure Athena already knows this though.

I'll remind her though... just in case. That's what I'm supposed to do though, right?


(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>