...aim buddy icons are found at grr-arghing icons...

4:25 p.m.
2002-07-27

Because it's been a while since I've updated, I've done my updates in three entries. The first entry consists of photos for your viewing pleasure. I've also added a niffty photo index of all my online photos. The second entry is also up.

Now here's the first entry.

***

Saturday July 20th

The One Where I Think I Might Know That Guy

It's been a good day. A very good day. A day that you could easily forget about, but remember when things get really bad and smile about. I seem to be having lots of these lately.

Saturday was my last happy day. I went into work at five to find the girls a bit behind, meaning if we were busy, I'd have lots and lots to do. I wasn't terribly happy about this, but figured there was nothing I could do, and that really, it didn't matter in the least.

I was going along, making salad lettuce, doing dishes, and baking baggettes when I saw a tallish, baldish, thirtyish man with sunglasses walk in.

'Oh, hey,' the little voice in my head said, 'that must be downstairs neighbor-guy. I *still* can't believe how much he looks like...'

'Holy crap,' the fouler little voice pipped up. 'Dude, I think that's my dad.'

And if you think I honestly didn't think the line, 'Dude, that's my dad.' you are saddly, saddly mistaken.

I went up the the front counter, more than a wee bit curious why exactly he was in Columbia, when the last time we had talked was the funneral more than a month and a half ago.

We had a nice little talk, it turnes out he just stoped by on his way to his new job. I can't remember much of what the conversation was, I just remember how extremly weird it was. Not weird in a bad way, just in a very, very different and unexpected way.

He eventually had to hit the road, and Sara who was working the front with me asked who he was. I told him it was my dad in unexpectedly from Wichita, which shocked and amazed her.

I wandered back to the back to take care of things, and soon the owners came back, and inquired about him. We had a nice little talk, with them asking questions, and telling me I should have taken an hour off to have dinner with him.

The rest of the night went equally as well, with Mr. B promoting me to learning the table (getting salads, sandwitches for customers) and learning the dinner prep work from Carlene. As I left he said I'd start Monday.

(Follow up: I did start my new duties on Monday by making 20 sandwiches for a catering order, effectivly doing the entire catering order myself. A very good feeling, esspecialy when the client come in and gushed how the sandwiches were just what she wanted. The rest of the week has been spent doing various things for Carlene to help with dinner prep. I'd been slightly worried however about what my new title actuall was. Was I doing dishes, working register, pulling, baking, bussing tables, table, apprentiece dinner girl? Mr. B however confirmed that my title is now, 'apprentice table/dinner doing dishes and helping out front only if needed girl who does baggettes. V.g.)

***

(I also redid the cast page. There's now a main cast index page that will take you to the family cast, work cast, and crush cast lists. Diaryland and Friends lists coming soon.)

second entry


(leave a comment)





<< a b o u t g i r l >>